Reviews of Bay Retreat Villas in Cornwall

Testimonials from past guests

“Had a lovely long weekend here with our family. Open plan downstairs living space with well equipped kitchen, living area and TV/ DVD player. Downstairs cloakroom. Upstairs has a nice big bath/ shower and two spacious bedrooms in the roof, both with large opening Velux windows. Good access to many fantastic beaches although I imagine in the height of summer this road network would be a nightmare…. Sound travelled really easily in the apartment we were in so TV watching downstairs was heard very easily in the twin upstairs room. Only improvement we would make is a clothes-airer to accompany the washing machine…..”

Andrew J (June 2016)

“Great accommodation-much bigger than we expected. Location is central if you want to access north Cornwall’s walking spots. It’s not the best location if you want to walk to beach or to some facilities (site under development) so if you are looking for something lively with a bar etc. then go elsewhere. Nice and quiet. Shop on site open 7 days and quite handy. Cornish Arms about a 5 min drive away.”

Liz White (March 2016)

“This was our first ‘indoor’ holiday after years of camping. We booked through xxxxxx as the price was compatible to a week of pitching our own tent and roughing it in the cold. Picked up our keys for Villa No 1 and we were totally overwhelmed when we set foot inside. We didn’t have just one inside toilet, we had two!! The villa was bigger than expected, very well appointed, cosy and warm and there was everything you could need for a comfortable stay. The kids had a twin bedroom with plenty of space for their stuff (although their bedroom didn’t have a wardrobe as the floor plan promised). The double room was big, had a good size wardrobe and bed was comfortable.
The villa was ‘pet friendly’ which is essential for us as we never travel without our cocker spaniel. Small enclosed garden was fine for her to securely potter around in and there was a very generous dog exercise area on site. Discovered on arrival that dogs are not allowed on first floor of villa which may pose problem for dogs who sleep with their owners. Almost impossible to keep them on ground floor without use of a child gate!
A car is essential (unless you are a keen cyclist) to get about. Well stocked small shop on site but nothing much apart from that. Nice place to come home to after a day of sightseeing. Plenty of hot water 🙂 We would definitely return.
Room Tip: Corner villas have larger gardens and more outside space. Also have windows by staircase adding natural light.

Katherine B (April 2016)

“My boyfriend and I stayed at the end of March. Lovely little villa. We picked up the keys from the safe very easily following instructions. Great location to explore if you have a car. Villa had more than enough of everything we needed for the 4 days we were there. Would definitely stay again!”

Sarah M (March 2016)

“We booked this trip as a bit of a last minute, end of the year get away and couldn’t have been happier. The booking was dealt with swiftly and instructions for locating the site, our keys and our villa (if nobody was available on arrival) were straightforward. From the minute we arrived to our departure there was nothing we required assistance with.

The villa is decorated, furnished and cleaned to a high standard. With a fantastic modern kitchen and bathrooms. The facilities allowed for the comfort of being at home. And although we visited out of season we couldn’t have enjoyed it more.

The mobile phone signal is not very good in the villas and surrounding area, but this can’t be helped. In any case there was free wi-fi of an excellent standard which we found useful when browsing/locating day trips was necessary, but it provided a relief from constant calls, messages, social media notifications and gave us the chance to switch off & relax. The travel company also provide a good selection of leaflets for local places to visit, so you never need to worry about things to do.

Our main reason for visiting was to eat at the local Rick Stein restaurants which were all within 10 minutes drive so for those of you who don’t want to shell out & stay directly in Padstow (Padstein) this was a great distance.

We couldn’t have enjoyed it more & are already considering another visit.
Room Tip: We had a corner villa which has a bit of extra garden space, ideal if you visit in summer!!”

Natalie G (November 2015)

“We went to Bay Retreat villas for a quiet Christmas and had a fabulous time.  The villa was clean and warm throughout, very well equipped with everything we needed.  One day we spent at the Eden Project which was great fun, we were there 5 hours, good value and reasonably priced lunch. We also visited Padstow where we bought fresh fish, Truro for some last minute shopping and St Agnes to watch surfers on Christmas Eve.  On Christmas morning we walked around Port Isaac (where they film Doc Martin) which is very quaint and then back to the villa to cook our dinner. Thank you for a lovely time.”

Lynda and Pete from Essex (December 2015)

“Easy access, great holiday home, shop nearby. Coffee, sugar were provided, washing up liquid would be nice to be provided as well. Would recommend definitely.”

M Wagner (May 2014)

“I would just like to thank you for our wonderful holiday that we enjoyed down at the Bay Retreat Villas in St Merryn, after winning your competition. The Villa was really lovely and modern, bright and airy and ideal for our stay, the weather was out of this world which probably made the holiday all the more enjoyable and having never been to North Cornwall before found it amazing.  The beaches are out of this world. It was one of the best holidays that I have had.  After staying there, we are now talking about booking up some other time to come back and stay there. Again, thank you my lovely prize.”

T Wilson (July 2013)

“My family and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Bay Retreat Villas in St Merryn Cornwall. I would like to let you know that the accommodation was 5 star as described. Our break was fantastic. Thank you for making it so easy to arrange. Please can you contact me immediately if any further deals arise at these villas.”

K Pluse (April 2012)

“We stayed at Bay Retreat 2 years ago and booked again with additional family members. It didn’t disappoint. Spotlessly clean and very modern it was perfect for all of us. We didn’t have any contact with staff as Reception was closed on our arrival, again when we tried to report that certain items were missing from the villa and on our departure which was a shame as I would have liked to thank them for a great stay. Perfect location for a trip into Padstow and surrounding villages and we also took advantage of a reduced price breakfast at one of their other properties in Newquay – in fact we were so impressed with it we are looking to book with them next.”

J Cobb (March 2011)

“We have now stayed 5 times at the villas and each time have nothing but a great time. Accommodation spotless, quite evenings, and love the area. Have recommended it to everyone. Rick Stein’s take-away fish and chips excellent value for money in Padstow. Harlyn Bay beach superb. Everything you need to enjoy a break away is here. We will keep coming back.”

I Theobald (March 2011)

“Superb, clean, modern accommodation. We stayed in November and got an excellent deal on the accommodation, so good we booked again in January and got an even better deal! The accommodation was very well heated – no danger of being cold despite the snow and ice in November and January. The kitchen was extremely well equipped with modern appliances.
The staff we met during our stay were helpful, friendly and welcoming. Overall, a great place to stay, can’t fault it.”

Elizabeth B (January 2011)

“Brand new modern accommodation with all the amenities including freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and a downstairs toilet which is very useful if you’re sharing with a lot of friends/family. Everything you can think of was provided including washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets and T-towels, flat screen TV and DVD player. Easy to get to Padstow, Boscastle, Tintagel, motorway etc. so location was perfect. The only one thing is that the towel rail in the bathroom was boiling and dangerous – my friend burnt her arm and was sore for days. Apart from that I cannot fault the accommodation/amenities.”

Heidi (November 2010)

Read independent reviews

The reviews detailed on this page are from past clients who have either written to us direct or left reviews on an independent website.

To see more reviews click on any of the links below.

  • Check availability